This year, the Student Awards attracted its highest number of entries to date, with entries submitted from around Australia and abroad.

Flying all the way from Canada to attend the Awards dinner function and to accept her Award in person for the 2010 Postgraduate Research Award category, was Sharareh Taghipour from the University of Toronto. Nominated by Professor Andrew Jardine, Sharareh impressed the judges with her submitted paper to the ICOMS Asset Management Conference titled “Periodic Inspection Optimization Models for a Repairable System Subject to Hidden Failures.”

Paul Websdane, nominated by Ray Beebe from Monash University, accepted the 2010 Postgraduate Student Award for the highest average grade for those completing the Masters of Maintenance and Reliability Engineering degree.

Taking out the Undergraduate Student Award category for 2010 was Samantha Haines, nominated by Associate Professor Melinda Hodkiewicz, from the University of Western Australia. Samantha completed an honours thesis to develop a nationwide Asset Management Plan for Compressors for the APA Group, Australia’s largest natural gas infrastructure business.

Congratulations to all of the Student Award recipients. All recipients received a complimentary 2010 ICOMS Asset Management Conference registration, a framed certificate, a $500.00 cheque and honorary Asset Management Council membership valid for twelve months.

Submissions to the 2011 Student Awards will open shortly. Email Kate Robertson, Awards and Communication Coordinator, for more information at

Upcoming Events

August 9 - August 11 2022

MaximoWorld 2022

View all Events
80% of newsletter subscribers report finding something used to improve their jobs on a regular basis.
Subscribers get exclusive content. Just released...MRO Best Practices Special Report - a $399 value!
Unified Data Management

Uptake Teams up with Cognizant to Unlock Unified Data Management

Uptake Fusion cost-effectively allows companies to set up data lakes, in addition to enterprise-wide asset monitoring, automated reporting, and digital twins

Seeq Recognizes Reseller and Service Partners of the Year

Seeq Recognizes Reseller and Service Partners of the Year

Seeq enables engineers and scientists in process manufacturing organizations to rapidly analyze, predict, collaborate, and share insights to improve production outcomes.

Scott Reese Named CEO of GE Digital

Scott Reese Named CEO of GE Digital

Scott Reese has track record of transforming software businesses and driving growth